Apple hedged with the word “nearly” on a figure only slightly above the A15. Note that Apple did not state a process node for the A16 in its announcement; the widely repeated 4nm figure is press attribution, not an Apple statement.
Apple A16 Bionic
A marginal Neural Engine step. The real A16 story was imaging and display, not AI.
Silicon from Apple
10 chips on record, newest first.
-
2026
Apple A20 Pro
2nm Dual 16-core Neural Engine (32 cores total)
2x the compute power to run on-device AI models
Relative only -
2026
Apple M6
2nm Dual 16-core Neural Engine
up to 2x the peak compute over previous generations (Neural Engine)
Relative only -
2025
Apple A19 Pro
Not stated by Apple 16-core Neural Engine plus per-GPU-core Neural Accelerators
Up to 3x the peak GPU compute over the previous generation (a GPU figure, not a Neural Engine one)))
Relative only -
2025
Apple A19
Third-generation 3nm Neural Engine plus per-GPU-core Neural Accelerators
No throughput figure published
None published -
2024
Apple A18 Pro
Second-generation 3nm 16-core Neural Engine
17 per cent increase in total system memory bandwidth
Relative only -
2024
Apple A18
Second-generation 3nm 16-core Neural Engine
Runs machine learning models up to 2x faster than A16 Bionic
Relative only -
2023Relative only
-
2022Absolute
-
2021Absolute
-
2020Absolute
